top of page
  • Writer's pictureshaunrye

Callum Johnson: "Maybe I let the occasion get to me, that'll never happen again".



At the age of 33, every fight now holds it's own unique significance for Boston fighter Callum Johnson. A stop-start career has meant success has arrived slightly later in his life, but a good win against Sean Monaghan in New York on March 9th could set up another shot at a light heavyweight World title.


Having already caught the attention in the UK with the obliteration of Buglioni and having given a good account of himself against IBF champ and revered puncher Artur Beterbiev, Johnson plans to keep his name among an increasing band of elite boxers in the 175lb division with a bout against experienced operator Monaghan.


Although not a top ten fighter, Monaghan-who only has losses against Sullivan Barrera and Badou Jack conqueror Marcus Browne-represents a reputable opponent and offers an opportunity to showcase his talents on the US stage on the undercard of WBA champion Dmitry Bivol. Johnson acknowledges he must be wary of the threat. "His record speaks for itself really, he's won 29 lost 2. The 2 guys he's lost to are both like world top 6 level fighters, so he's a tough opponent."


The importance of the fight hinges on the fact that this fight may well lead immediately to another title shot. "By the sounds of what I'm hearing, there's a very good chance I could get a World title shot after this if I win. Obviously Bivol's been mentioned, some people regard him as the number one in the division, I personally think Beterbiev is myself but I'd love to fight any of the World champions again. Right now my number one goal is to get myself another World title shot by whichever means possible."




Johnson has already fought in the US, making his stateside debut in October of last year in a brutal IBF title fight with Russian Artur Beterbiev and feels the experience in opposition as much as his experiences in location will serve him well. "It will stand me in good stead massively, not the fact that I've boxed in America, the travelling side of things doesn't bother me. I've boxed in Canada, India and all over the World as an amateur, but the level of opposition, being in there with the guy nobody else wanted to fight you know, the pressures of it all and the nerves of it all will stand me in good stead."


Although Commonwealth champ Johnson feels his previous outing will help him, he still kicks himself for not seizing his opportunity in a fight where both suffered heavy knock downs. "In the Beterbiev fight I maybe doubted myself a little bit in the run up in fight week and maybe I let the occasion get to me, but obviously that'll never happen again. I kick myself all the time over that performance even though I did well and everyone sort of feels I did well, but I know I could have done better so I'll take a lot of experience from that into these next fights."


One thing that he will take heart from is that his single punch power is certainly no myth and if anyone doubted that it would transfer once up against the elite, those doubts were answered resoundingly against the Russian. Although maybe even Johnson himself was a little surprised when he caught him in the second round with a thunderous left hook. "Do you know what? I always believed I could (hurt him), I just never believed I would, so when I did, maybe I was shocked and I do feel like I froze, sort of got that star struck moment."



In a world where talk of legacies, unbeaten records and standing within the sport dominates, Johnson refreshingly reiterates his own motives, which couldn't be further from the glamour and prestige upon which many fighters place their priorities. "My number one ambition in life is to get my kids secure. There will be a time when I'm not here, if I can leave this planet knowing I've left my kids secure, I'll die a happy man. The titles are nice and everything else, people knowing you and people saying 'alright Cal, well done', it's all nice but it doesn't mean anything I'll be honest. It's leaving my kids settled and secure with some nice houses, that's what matters."


As mentioned, the Monaghan fight may well be a prelude to a shot at one of the current light heavyweight title holders. For that to be secured the victory will need to be fairly emphatic and with a heavy knockout ratio it's fair to say that Johnson will be keen for this bout to end in similar fashion too, though he was quick to point to the variation he has in his armoury. "I'd describe myself as an all-rounder really, a box-puncher. I can box on the back foot as well but I tend not to choose to fight that way. I do like to put 'em on the back foot and get down to work really.

It helps having that knockout power, I have got that equalizer as well so, people always speak about my left hook, they say 'oh his left hook's his killer punch' blah, blah, blah, but if you look through all my knockouts, most have come from the right. The Frank fight, put him down with the right, finished him with the right, Shihepo right hand, look at some of the earlier fights I scored a lot of knockouts with the right hand. I've put Beterbiev down with a left hook, as I say I can put 'em down with both hands, you know it's good that I've got power in both hands, any shot as well really."


The World title is the ultimate goal, as is the case with most boxers but Johnson is acutely aware of the growing domestic scene within the division and says that he always has half an eye on proceedings. "People was frustrated that I vacated the belt (British title), I didn't have the fight with Buatsi but at the end of the day, I've been offered this fight, you know for very good money and the potential that I win this fight, I can get another World title shot, why would I stay at British level? it doesn't make sense financially, for my career, you know for that chance to get a shot at the belt again. British level fights are always going to be there, if they get to my level or I have to come back down a level."


The light heavyweight division is stacked full of stellar names and although he respects their prowess, he insists that those are the fights that keep him focused. "It is what it is, they're in the division, I'm in the division. There's some big fights in there to be made and there's some big fights to chase and that's what you get up in the morning for, to chase them big opportunities and chase that big pay day, let's be honest because I'll be totally honest the belts are all well and good but they don't put food on the table. My career has been stop-start, stop-start and a lot of road blocks and it's been hard to get to where I am now, so I've finally got myself in a position where I can get a few decent fights and earn a few quid, that's what I want to do. Basically for the last twenty years I've boxed for free and I've not earned any money from a professional sport up until my last fight, but now I've got a little window of opportunity where I can earn a few quid."

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page