top of page
  • Writer's pictureshaunrye

Ellie Scotney: "I Am Not Here To Make Up The Numbers."



The simple promise of a Mars bar and a carton of Ribena was enough to entice a young Ellie Scotney to the boxing gym for the first time, but if that was the initial reason for tagging along with her brother on that first occasion, it certainly was not why she stayed, worked hard, and developed into one of the most sought-after young fighters in the country.

The unashamedly honest admission of seeing her brothers come home with confectionery treats and wanting the same, was a feeling that was soon replaced with an alternative incentive to attend, an inexplicable love and appreciation for the toil and residual odour left behind from a gym full of hungry boxing hopefuls.

"Do you know what? I remember it as clear as anything." said Scotney. "My brothers used to go, and they would always come back with a carton of Ribena and a Mars bar, I kind of wanted to go for that, although I wouldn't admit that. That was what led me there, and once I stepped in the gym, I was like 'yes', even the smell and I know that sounds a bit crude, but I just fell in love with it."

Falling in love with the sport and becoming a real student of the game, avid boxing fan Scotney told of her boxing influences outside of her visits to the gym, reminiscing about countless occasions where she had attempted to stay up and tune into fights involving stars like Ricky Hatton and David Haye. "I remember, because we never really had Sky in our house, we just had normal telly, I remember going to sleep when it was Hatton Mayweather, but we had it on the radio and I remember sat thinking please stay awake and obviously, I conked out as I was only young, and I woke up the second he got done and that was like the standout moment for me. We also watched David Haye on a dodgy stream against Maccarinelli, it is just the little memories like that. I think I used to be the annoying one during the fight that just wouldn't shut up, give me a packet of skittles and I'll be on my way."


The Londoner continued her boxing education, and followed her induction into the industry with a successful stint as a young amateur before turning professional in February 2020, at the tender age of 21, signing with Matchroom at a time that is increasingly now referred to as 'pre-pandemic'. At the time of the decision, Scotney was in contention to represent Team GB at the 2020 Olympics but insisted that it was exactly the right time and the correct call to make. "I always had it in the back of my mind and as soon as I made the decision, I came to terms with it, and I have never looked back since." Regarding the feeling surrounding the choice of career path, she added, "It was like a whole weight had been lifted off my shoulders and I just fell in love with boxing all over again, it was good for me."


Despite signing in February, Scotney-who was originally scheduled to make her professional debut in March-had to wait patiently for her opportunity, eventually fighting Bec Connolly in October. The wait was in part due to the obvious COVID-19 complications, but her debut was also held up by a hand injury. Explaining for the first time about her injury, the new Matchroom talent told of the frustration at having to watch on as the women took centre stage during the summer Fight Camp series. "It's funny, I've never really said this, but I broke my hand. During lockdown, I had a date set and I broke my hand, so it set the date back even further, so at one point I was thinking 'I'm cursed! I'm going to have to take up cleaning or something, this ain't for me."


That sort of disruption and injury would be enough to worry any young debutant, or so you would think. However the setback seemingly did nothing to dampen or deter the spirit of the gifted pugilist. My question of whether the injury affected her mindset when fighting Connolly, was pierced with a laugh that preceded a declaration of "Nooo, I've got hands of candy floss me, both of my hands have been done, I've got pins in one of them, I've sorted all the wrongs now, so I shouldn't have any problems."

The debut itself was a very assured and composed display against an experienced opponent in Connolly. From the bell, Scotney quickly found her range and measured the distance finding a home for her slick jab. As the fight progressed, she became more and more confident, sinking in body shots and switching the attack smoothly upstairs and finishing combinations with strong hooks to the head. The Londoner outfought and overwhelmed Connolly on the way to a points decision, dropping her and cutting her above the right eye in the process.

Speaking about her debut experience and the level of control she exhibited she told me, "I think having no crowd helped me massively, I have never been that focused before, I was in my own little world and I had waited so long for it, so everything just went perfect and I just felt ready to go."



Helping and aiding that process in the corner that evening, was Adam Booth. As I began to enquire as to the effect of such a calm influence in the corner, I was interrupted by the sharp wit of the Super Bantamweight operator, who-upon mention of the name Adam Booth-jumped in with, "Oh, 'The Dark Lord'. After a little laugh at her own witticism, the 22-year old from South East London temporarily abandoned her gift of repartee to keenly express the amount of time she spends trying to draw from his vast and priceless knowledge. "I say this a lot, but every day I go to the gym and I just pick and pick and pick and find out as much as I possibly can, and also being around all the boys, they have got a good team going with Charlie and 'H' yeah it's buzzing down there." 'H' being Huzaifah Iqbal who fights out of and is also utilised in a coaching capacity at Adam Booth's gym.


The impressive nature of Scotney's debut victory means that there will already be talk of potential domestic fights and although some of the divisions in women's boxing still lack the desired depth, countless female fighters have circumvented that obstacle by moving up and down the weights, something she fully anticipates having to do. "Obviously, I started at Featherweight and that was never going to be a weight that I was going to be boxing at. I did as an amateur, but I always knew that my weight would be Super Bantam and you know, if I can handle not going to the fridge as much, I might look at Bantam too. But let's get Christmas out the way first."


Rachel Ball, Amy Timlin and Carly Skelly are UK Super Bantamweight fighters that will be familiar names amongst boxing fans and if you add Bantamweight operator Shannon Courtenay to that, there is obviously a growing influence of excitement and intrigue within the UK scene. The fantastic fights delivered over the summer between Jonas and Harper and Ball and Courtenay have further enhanced that sense of appeal. In acknowledging the development and strides taken in terms of women's participation on big cards, the 22-year-old said, "Say if you were at a show before, the women would be on at 6 o'clock, people would go to the bar and pass some time, wouldn't they? whereas now, the fights are catching the eye and you're sitting back thinking, 'these girls can fight'. So, I think it has definitely opened everyone's eyes to how girls can give it as much as the men, probably a bit more sometimes."

Another aspect of the women's game that was discussed, was the calls for three-minute rounds in women's boxing and although keen to emphasize her agreement for it in principle, she also made a very valuable point as to why there may be support to the contrary. "Without a doubt I would welcome three-minute rounds, two minutes is a sprint and I'm not a very good runner to be honest, I like to ease myself in so, three minutes you can take your time and have more structure around your work, but I can understand why they currently do two minutes because the all-action aspect is winning everyone around at the minute."

The element of humour and relaxed demeanour that accompanied most of the interview was still underpinned with moments that showed the real reasons behind what being a professional boxer is all about for Scotney. She is very aware of her role within the sport and embraces the responsibility it brings, including being a role model for the next wave of aspiring boxers. At a time where women are taking centre stage or you might say more aptly taking the centre of the ring, Scotney recognises a change in the landscape and is proud to not only encourage and inspire other young girls, but also young boys too. Punctuating her point with a tangible example, she said, "I think those are the things that matter the most, when you get the little messages from the young ones it definitely is important, and do you know what? I even got a little boy that sent me a message, he sent me a video of him copying my combinations on the pads, for me that was like wow! for a boy to look at a girl and think, 'I want to try that', that was something that really made me think wow things are moving on."

As well as her love for boxing, the former English Youth title holder passionately follows Crystal Palace, a passion that is shared by fellow Matchroom fighter, and Light Heavyweight operator Joshua Buatsi. Who knows? that shared passion with Buatsi could help Scotney realise her lofty ambition of fighting at their home, Selhurst Park, something Scotney would undoubtedly welcome down the line. Speaking of her love for Palace she said, "I know Joshua Buatsi is a fan as well so I think it's possible, I will try and get on his undercard one day."

Buatsi is on the cusp of world honours, and whilst Scotney is just starting out in the professional ranks, she will be hopeful of carving out a similar route. One thing is certain, those who have studiously followed her progress, will tell you that she has the ability to make waves in the sport and she unequivocally answered any suggestion of doubt surrounding her ambitions stating, "I am not here to make up the numbers, I have got a lot to learn and I can't run before I walk but 100% I have come into the game to be a world champion so I have got to make sure I fulfil that."

Scotney hopes to be back out on January 30th, but as of yet there has been no mention of a potential opponent.




210 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page